Reading Unit: Inferencing

We have begun working on inferencing in our reading workshop block.

Learning Goal:
We are learning to make inferences about the texts we are reading. We can understand what characters are thinking, feeling, or doing without it being directly stated.

Success Criteria:
– I used information from the text
– I used my own ideas
– I used picture clues
– I put them all together to help me make my inference

Text clues + my own knowledge = inference

 

How to Help at Home

When reading with your child, ask them questions about how the characters might be feeling about events that have happened. Have them find a piece of proof from the book to support what they have said. They may also use their own personal connections to help them make an inference.

This entry was posted on January 19, 2018. Bookmark the permalink.