Writing Unit: Recount

Students have begun writing a recount. A recount is when we write about an event that has personally happened to us. Students will be using a graphic organizer to help them brainstorm and record ideas for their recount. They will then begin typing their recounts on the computer. After some editing and revising, they will publish their final copy.

Recount Success Criteria:

  • I wrote in past tense
  • I wrote in 1st person
  • I wrote events in order
  • I included lots of details (who, what, where, when, why, how)
  • I included my feelings
  • I have 5 paragraphs (introduction, 3 body paragraphs, conclusion)
  • I have a title

How to Help at Home:

  • Ask your child what they are writing their recount about.
  • Talk to your child about different details they could add to each of their paragraphs.
  • Have your child write a paragraph for you about any subject. Edit and revise the paragraph together.
    • edit (check for proper spelling, grammar, and punctuation)
    • revise (add extra details and more descriptive words)
This entry was posted on September 27, 2019. Bookmark the permalink.